In my search for inspiration from other Instructional Designers, I came upon three blogs which met my quest criteria, leaving me inspired to say the least. These designers as innovators and strategists will be my virtual companions as I explore various concepts, methods of learning and application, and trends in the field of Instructional Design.

#1

Learning-Strategist

This blog contains innovative ideas on social learning in the workplace for professional growth, the future of the education system and applicable learning strategies. The skill set of an instructional designer is also depicted which I found to be helpful as a quick summary in addition to the writings on the Instructional Designers evolving role.

#2

In her blog, Cathy Moore sets out to challenge instructional design processes with her tailored alternatives. An excellent source of inspiration from the initial stages of conception to evaluation with a focus on e-learning design. Inspiration abounds with the various tutorials, and informative trend analysis. The conversation that takes place around the posts are thought provoking and especially insightful for professional development. This blog sets itself a part from the others as it comes at instructional design from a holistic perspective providing insight from designing job aids to tutorials to simulations with a rich array of multimedia resources. I’ll consider this my stomping grounds to at least access the demonstrations of design tools for varied applications.

 #3

Instructional Design & Development Blog is a collaboration of the Instructional Designers at the Instructional Design & Development Department of DePaul University. The focus is on designing for the online learning environment. More than one time saving efficiency web tools are shared as well as interesting thoughts on pedagogy in the design process. One article in particular especially intrigued me written on the Instructional Designer as User Experience Designer. These thoughts resonate with me and will prove especially helpful along the way as I’ve already experienced firsthand the importance of  meshing the instruction and user experience design process.